The licence to renew Glyphosate has been approved for 5 years following a late night vote on 27th November in the European Council that saw 19 member states (including Germany fresh from its coalition talks in Berlin) voting in favour of the licence’s renewal. France, Belgium, Greece, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Malta and Austria voted against.

The European Commission and national governments are currently considering options for a shorter renewal period for Glysophate, a controversial agricultural herbicide, after the European Commission’s proposal to extend the permit for glyphosate for ten years was rejected this week in the European Parliament. Although not legally binding, the European Parliament’s resolution this week calling for a full phase-out of glyphosate before 2022 heaps pressure on the member states to call for an outright ban in response to widespread public concern across the EU.